A Gift from The Dominican Republic

My grandmother and grandfather recently visited The Dominican Republic for vacation. They did lots of fun things such as hiking up mountains and sliding down the waterfalls that were at the top. The water was freezing cold. They climbed seven mountains out of the twenty-seven that were there. At the top of one of these mountains, there was a little village. The main thing that the villagers did for business was carving little shapes and animals out of either petrified wood or limestone. One of the softest minerals, limestone is easy to carve and mold. Aged and beautiful, petrified wood is hard and is as strong as stone. It is also very smooth. My grandparents brought us back each one of these, and mine was in the shape of a turtle. I have already arranged a special place on my shelf for this precious gift, and I don’t intend to lose it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. vpoolfam@gmail.com says:

    You have some pretty cool grandparents.

Leave a comment